Following Idiotic Mac Questions for an Idiotic Mac Newbie Idiot. Idiot. Page 64

  • Tonka 8 Feb 2019 08:16:12 29,827 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Oh boy. Apples latest clever engineering messes with professional equipment.
    https://appleinsider.com/articles/19/02/07/apples-t2-proving-troublesome-for-some-professional-audio-interface-users

    Go Apple and their dedication to shafting pro users!
  • elstoof 8 Feb 2019 08:26:58 24,102 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Why do you keep buying them
  • dominalien 8 Feb 2019 08:55:46 9,274 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    It's sexy, sexy stuff. Added to my sexy, it's an explosion of sexy. I know the question wasn't at me, but, you know, sexy.
  • Tonka 8 Feb 2019 09:04:41 29,827 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    elstoof wrote:
    Why do you keep buying them
    I love Keynote. It's essential for my work.Also, I'm not the one paying for them.

    Edited by Tonka at 09:04:59 08-02-2019
  • dominalien 8 Feb 2019 12:12:01 9,274 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    That is true, Keynote is lovely. Sexy, even.
  • CrispyXUKTurbo 8 Feb 2019 12:34:38 2,082 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    There's something about macOS on a laptop, I fucking love it. The weird hardware decisions they're making recently are weird though.
  • 1Dgaf 25 Apr 2019 12:02:59 5,121 posts
    Seen 4 weeks ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    My 2013 Macbook Pro Retina has stopped recognising a USB device I use to plug in a Microphone I use with garageband.

    So I bought a new, different USB device and upgraded to High Sierra and it still isn't working. I've also tested with different USB ports, cables and another microphone.

    Neither Garaeband or Logic recognise the USB audio device. The sound on the Macbook doesn't see affected otherwise.

    Any ideas?
  • nickthegun 25 Apr 2019 12:05:04 78,772 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Does it recognise anything plugged into it?
  • 1Dgaf 25 Apr 2019 12:11:20 5,121 posts
    Seen 4 weeks ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yes. Yesterday I upgraded the OS and used two extenal HDDs to back up.
  • nickthegun 25 Apr 2019 12:51:00 78,772 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Try creating a new profile and see if that works.

    Failing that, partition one of the drives, bang a fresh OS on there and boot from that. If it works, format your machine, restore from backup and hope nothing in the restore kills it again.

    Edited by nickthegun at 12:51:32 25-04-2019
  • 1Dgaf 25 Apr 2019 17:19:57 5,121 posts
    Seen 4 weeks ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    EDIT - IT was one of the audio cables. For God's take. I thought I'd tested everything.

    Thanks. I'll see if I can create a new rofile thing. I'm not good enough with computers anymore do much of anything else.

    EDIT -

    The new user thing hasn't worked, so I'm stumped. I've tried resetting the USB ports after looking online nd something to do with resetting some aspect of RAM. Nothing worked.

    Edited by 1Dgaf at 18:01:55 25-04-2019

    Edited by 1Dgaf at 18:17:15 25-04-2019
  • Tonka 26 Apr 2019 09:33:20 29,827 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    @1Dgaf it's not that the sound in device is set to internal microphone?
  • 1Dgaf 26 Apr 2019 13:18:49 5,121 posts
    Seen 4 weeks ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I don't htink that was the issue. I checked all the devices, but clearly not as well as checking the cable.

    For some reason the 'faulty' cable seemed to end up working later, but with much more hiss and noise than the newer replacement.
  • Lukus 26 Apr 2019 15:32:18 22,107 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    I blame Nick
  • nickthegun 26 Apr 2019 15:40:43 78,772 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    You should. I never suspect the cable.
  • Gaol 25 May 2019 20:52:30 3,464 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I don't know if anyone can help, but I'd really like to be able to block all search results from the daily express. I am sick of them appearing all over my google results, they are absolute nonsense and seem to be re-posted daily, I'd b happy never seeing another piece of 'content' from them again. I use safari on a MacBook.
  • Rhaegyr 16 Jul 2019 19:30:25 4,829 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    So, my old Macbook Pro decided to shit itself last night.

    It's an old 2011 model and seemed to be running fine; it suddenly crashed last night and now it will only get to about half way on the progress bar before giving me a grey screen for ten seconds, rebooting and trying again.

    I've done the usual things - reset PRAM/NVRAM, tried to start in Safe Mode and tried to boot into Mac Utilities. No joy with any, just the same pattern.

    I can boot in Verbose Mode and it crashes at;

    "en2 promiscuous mode enable succeeded". Made me chuckle at least.

    Any ideas? I can see some buzz online about it being covered by a recall (I've already had the logic board replaced for free twice due to it being part of a recall) but I'm not holding my breath.

    Thanks!
  • nickthegun 16 Jul 2019 19:59:34 78,772 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Check the exact model number to be sure but your discrete graphics chip will have taken a dump.

    The low power Intel one seems fine but the ATI chip that kicks in when it needs to do work seems like a real piece of shit. Theres a thread on the Apple support forums that hundreds of pages deep with people losing their minds about it.

    Mine had two main boards, one under applecare and one under a CS program, and needed a third when the same thing happened again after the CS program finished.

    I decided to cut my losses because I couldn't be arsed with it anymore. Six years wasn't a bad innings, even though it was like triggers broom by the end.

    You can find places on the internet that will reball the solder on the chip which keeps it limping along, but I would just chuck a glass of wine on it and claim it on your insurance.
  • dominalien 16 Jul 2019 20:14:49 9,274 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    As always, get a Linux (Mint?) live usb and try booting off that. If it works, it's possibly a software issue. If it doesn't, do what nick says.
  • nickthegun 16 Jul 2019 21:00:01 78,772 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Actually, that is a good point. I had mine dual booted with windows and it absolutely prolapsed when booting into that. Graphical corruption ahoy, whereas OSX was just a grey background.
  • Rhaegyr 17 Jul 2019 09:33:08 4,829 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Thanks to both of you for the helpful replies - very much appreciated!
  • HairyArse 3 Aug 2019 19:07:02 1,313 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    A friend of mine has just bought a brand new 21.5Ē iMac for £900. Is it normal for these to be shit slow?

    Clean install, Photoshop and Indesign take around a minute to load and chug really badly.

    I personally wouldnít buy anything with a non-SSD drive in it these days, but even so you wouldnít expect £900 of iMac to be so bad.

    Can anyone recommend some software I can run to check everything is operating as it should? My gut feeling is she needs a ram and hdd upgrade but thatís not gonna go down well.
  • elstoof 3 Aug 2019 19:25:28 24,102 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    iMac starts at £1050, is it brand new? Iíve got a 21.5Ē Retina iMac which is about 18 months old, itís plenty quick with 16gb of ram and powerful enough. Comes with discreet graphics though, the base non-retina doesnít. The fusion drive isnít as quick as a proper ssd but itís not that bad.

    I suspect your friend bought the wrong model if she planned on doing heavy graphics work with it, the base is Iris graphics only
  • Beetroot_Bertie 3 Aug 2019 23:27:06 458 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I might be wrong but I'm not sure the 21.5" models have user accessible RAM without invalidating the warranty. I know, it's dumb and restrictive. An external SSD to boot from might help but I'd imagine a RAM upgrade might be an expensive Apple Store job unless you're comfortable opening it up. Hopefully, the retailer has a good returns policy if she's not happy with the current configuration.

    You could try the apple hardware test:
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201257

    Edited by Beetroot_Bertie at 23:29:14 03-08-2019
  • elstoof 4 Aug 2019 00:00:14 24,102 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    That base iMac looks pretty shit on closer inspection. 7th gen processor, basic ATA HD, no graphics card, 1080 screen. Try to return that ASAP
  • HairyArse 4 Aug 2019 10:02:11 1,313 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I've got it in front of me now,

    i5 3GHz, 8GB Ram, 1TB Sata HDD, Radeon Pro 555.

    It's not exactly a powerhouse, but fuck me even Chrome is slow to open and load. Almost 6 seconds just to open a single tab and load Google.

    I'm gonna see if this software update makes any difference and if not will wipe and start again.
  • Armoured_Bear 4 Aug 2019 10:07:53 27,440 posts
    Seen 23 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    HairyArse wrote:
    I've got it in front of me now,

    i5 3GHz, 8GB Ram, 1TB Sata HDD, Radeon Pro 555.

    It's not exactly a powerhouse, but fuck me even Chrome is slow to open and load. Almost 6 seconds just to open a single tab and load Google.

    I'm gonna see if this software update makes any difference and if not will wipe and start again.
    It's not going to significantly improve without an SSD, she needs to either get that upgraded or return it and buy a model with at least a fusion drive.
  • HairyArse 4 Aug 2019 10:15:26 1,313 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Also it's a 2017 iMac. I would definitely expect better.

    Hell, another Friend has a 2013 fat iMac that runs faster than this.
  • HairyArse 4 Aug 2019 10:19:08 1,313 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Armoured_Bear wrote:

    It's not going to significantly improve without an SSD, she needs to either get that upgraded or return it and buy a model with at least a fusion drive.
    Yeah, I agree. I'm looking for local companies to do it. I'd do it myself but I really don't like how you have to loosen the screen glue and basically pry it off with a spatula.

    It still doesn't feel right to me, though.
  • elstoof 4 Aug 2019 10:22:32 24,102 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    It canít be brand new with that spec, Apple donít offer that build any more and they donít sell anything iMac for 900 quid. Is it a refurb? It shouldnít be that slow
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.