Virgin Media issues Page 25

  • CosmicFuzz 4 Sep 2016 09:46:44 32,604 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Didn't know so many had issues with them. Guess we're quite lucky, always been super fast and reliable. Been with them for almost a year now.
  • nickthegun 4 Sep 2016 09:52:28 86,367 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Yeah, mine is pretty much bullet proof. The only issues ive had have been when my router couldnt renew its IP address and when they let the tea boy loose on the DNS servers.

    But then I dont live in what I would imagine is a high contention area.
  • the_milkybar_kid 4 Sep 2016 10:23:52 8,425 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    It's their excuses that get in my tits. After several complaints in the past they said they were working on improving the local hub because it couldn't handle the amount of customers they had in the area and they 'upgraded' us after like a week of downtime.

    Sure enough nothing changes during peak times apart from getting slightly better speeds and it does hit 100 occasionally.
  • challenge_hanukkah 9 Dec 2016 11:13:55 14,122 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Have you tried the live webchat?

    When we were with Virgin we had better success talking to them that way.
  • KevInChester 9 Dec 2016 11:44:13 55 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I'm currently living in a house share, the Virgin Superhub 2a is downstairs. My signal is excellent and with my laptop I get decent speeds in the main. On my PS4 however the connection speed goes from a 'high' of 5mbps to a low of 22kbps! I've forwarded ports, tried different setups but never really improves.

    The connection speed on my mobile which is 5ghz is much much faster, so I was thinking of buying a router to plug into my PS4 with an Ethernet and then using it as a wireless bridge 5ghz to the Virgin SuperHub.

    I would use power-line adaptors but not feasible due to the situation.

    Edited by KevInChester at 11:48:12 09-12-2016
  • Decks 9 Dec 2016 11:48:04 29,765 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Is your name Kevin Chester or do you live in Chester?
  • KevInChester 9 Dec 2016 11:48:58 55 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Neither! Though did used to live in Chester.
  • mrpon 9 Dec 2016 12:10:41 37,164 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Upgraded to 100Mbp for an extra 4 a month. Plus 14 to upgrade to the latest Superhub 3.0, thought I'd give it a go.
  • greg_wha 10 Dec 2016 08:46:33 1,392 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @mrpon your new hub up and running? I run a 2.0 in modem mode and use a ASUS router but interested to hear if the 3 is decent!?
  • neilka 10 Dec 2016 08:53:28 23,907 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Apparently it isn't: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/12/03/intel_puma_chipset_firmware_fix/
  • Trowel 10 Dec 2016 09:49:55 24,355 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 18 years ago
    neilka wrote:
    Apparently it isn't: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/12/03/intel_puma_chipset_firmware_fix/
    I looked at an eight-year graph of latency from my home logs, and was horrified.
    Presumably the horror was the realisation that he's the sort of person to maintain a log of latency for 8 years.
  • Deleted user 10 December 2016 17:13:28
    Installed my 200 today, getting 20, called up and got lied to, then got told there's a problem in my area until February. Fuck this shit.
  • askew 11 Dec 2016 09:18:34 23,225 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    You might be able to resolve the latency issues by repositioning your router, or using those home plugs.
  • Rogueywon 11 Dec 2016 09:33:25 11,543 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    @Iagree Have you checked for conflicting wireless networks, changed router channels etc? In my experience, wireless issues are very unlikely to be ISP-related. I've certainly known apartment buildings where wireless isn't much use for anything but web-browsing, because there are so many overlapping networks.
  • askew 11 Dec 2016 09:38:56 23,225 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Yeah, perhaps there's a bunch of noise.

    @iagree Any directional antennae on that device? 8 feet and that result is disappointing.
  • mrpon 11 Dec 2016 18:17:25 37,164 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    greg_wha wrote:
    @mrpon your new hub up and running? I run a 2.0 in modem mode and use a ASUS router but interested to hear if the 3 is decent!?
    Speed wise getting 95+Mbps down, 6Mbps up at various points in the day. Wifi coverage wise, not great. Room furthest away still dropouts for me. Still tinkering with settings/channels/router location etc.. May have to go wifi extenders as I've got a network wired house.

    Iagree - no, I was on the 75Mbps package. On the 100 one now.
  • Deleted user 11 December 2016 19:36:42
    Getting a whopping 5mbps at the moment.
  • greg_wha 25 Mar 2017 05:54:38 1,392 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Anyone else get the speed boost email?
    They've been teasing it for my area for the last 12 months. I got a email yesterday saying it was ready and to go to the website to activate your boost!!!
    So I did all happy as Larry (all along they've not just implied it's gonna be free I've got it in black and white) and I get to the end of the order and my confirmation email says they'll let me know within 48 hours if I'm gonna get a price increase!
    Snakes.
  • X201 25 Mar 2017 06:05:06 21,631 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Did they say an increase to your monthly bill, or did they say there may be other charges

    I needed a new modem as my old one was ancient
  • greg_wha 25 Mar 2017 06:11:46 1,392 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @X201 yeah, it definitely referred to monthly change. To be fair they did say 'if'. Plus I get 7 days to go back to 100 if they do increase the monthly bill by a unreasonable amount. Just found it abit sly when they've been shouting FREE speed boost at me for ages and it takes me to get as far as a order confirmation for them to warn me our bill might go up.
  • greg_wha 25 Mar 2017 06:11:59 1,392 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    *charge
  • Deleted user 28 March 2017 08:57:00
    Ah balls. So I may have to go down the early disconnection fee, as my house isn't ready by the time I move out, which means I'll be charged the max 240 fee to exit, as obviously I'll be moving out..
  • Jeepers 28 Mar 2017 09:59:49 16,612 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Virgin put a card thro' my door today to give me notice that they'll be doing work on the cabling in our street, and that we'll lose internet for an unspecified amount of time.

    Five minutes later, I lose internet.

    Thanks for the heads up, you fucking useless shower of shites.
  • kadooosh 4 Apr 2017 09:09:54 3,239 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Just moved to a new area and for the first time in over 10 years with virgin the fuckers are clearly throttling the speed during 7 and 11. I go from 100 Meg at 6pm to 15 at 7 and my ping goes to 110 on average. An hour on the phone and they're sending an engineer who will come outside those hours tonight and it'll be fine I'm sure.

    Anyone had any luck with this? Thinking I may just cancel as only signed up last week and go with sky fibre instead. Lower speed but hopefully a consistent one.
Sign in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.