CSS solve-me-do Page 3

  • Deleted user 5 March 2009 13:09:43
    Yup, it's fooking brilliant
  • Spanky 5 Mar 2009 13:17:56 14,964 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    I see a rainbow in your thingy, whatever you call it, how did that get there? Unicorn power? :D

    Looks alright, what browser is it using for the preview?
  • Deleted user 5 March 2009 13:29:41
    A what?

    Uses a built in browser I think, but you can launch external jobbies.
  • Spanky 5 Mar 2009 13:42:45 14,964 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Your taskbar thing, tis got a camp rainbow on it. ;)

    Most of these editors use a preexisting browser like ie or mozilla for their little renderer things. Just askin.
  • Deleted user 5 March 2009 13:45:34
    A rainbow? Where? You talking about the Photoshop/Indesign/Illustrator icons?
  • Spanky 5 Mar 2009 13:49:24 14,964 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Naw up by your date, tis got a wee spectrum style rainbow, nothing worth worrying about.
  • Deleted user 5 March 2009 13:52:17
    Ah, my desktop wallpaper is a rainbow.
  • Deleted user 19 July 2009 10:14:21
    Here's a thing I did in CSS, thought other people might find it useful. I kept on opening iTunes due to links on the forum to the iTunes store when I didn't want to and I was too brain-dead to see the URL before hitting it, so add this to your user stylesheet and it will append "(iTunes store link)" to any url that begins with http://itunes.apple.com:

    a[href^='http://itunes.apple.com']:after
    {
    content: ' (iTunes store link)';
    }

    Won't work in IE but all other browsers should be fine.

    That is all.
  • Deleted user 19 July 2009 10:15:15
    Obviously ignore the auto-linking there. Can't we have a code /code pair of tags for stuff like this?
  • Deleted user 19 July 2009 19:04:20
    It's a shame that the code tags still don't work like you'd think they should. I always wondered why they existed - all they really seem to do is work as glorified quoting tags at the moment.

    [code]blahblah[/code]

    See? That's an 'a href' tag inside the code tags - doesn't show up as code. It's been mentioned before.
  • magicpanda 17 Nov 2009 10:35:55 14,874 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    I'm trying to get a load of small square divs sit side by side inside one big wide div.

    It's a pagination thing basically like Google search results page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 etc.

    Any ideas?

    I can get them side by side no probs with some margins and floating left but I cant get them all centralised inside the one div.
  • Stormflood 17 Nov 2009 13:58:20 2,262 posts
    Seen 6 years ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    @Magic Panda

    As they are floating left, so they can only align left. The only thing you can do is center the containing div and give it the width of x number of floating children (+margins). Of course, I'm sure you want the number of floaters to be dynamic, so this will be an issue.

    If you're happy coding for modern browsers, you could always use display: table, table-row and table-cell properties and do what Google have done but with divs. I just tried it out and it works in the latest FF, IE and Safari, but anything older than IE8 and it fails.

    So the only other solution, without using javascript, would be to just use a table. You'll feel dirty, but it will work.
  • Deleted user 24 February 2010 13:51:11
    Anyone know if there's any decent web apps to setup font size/spacing/baseline? I'm having huge difficulties doing it in code, my brain just can't work it out :(
  • Spanky 24 Feb 2010 14:00:29 14,964 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    You mean a reset?
  • Deleted user 24 February 2010 14:20:29
    Nah, already using a reset. Just need some visual assistance for the h* / p / li, etc. tags. I'm also getting massively confused between using em, px or % :) Too many numbers in my brain.
  • Deleted user 24 February 2010 15:32:29
    Something like this but can display various tags so I can set the spacing before and after so it lines up with a baseline grid.

    I just can't do it in my brain.
  • askew 24 Feb 2010 15:35:09 19,784 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    There's an Air app called em calculator which will do it :)
  • Deleted user 24 February 2010 16:03:04
    Cheers.

    Is it best to add padding to the top or bottom?
  • Deleted user 24 February 2010 16:24:29
    Ended up adding it to the top.

    Progress here any suggestions massively welcome
  • askew 24 Feb 2010 16:51:05 19,784 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Split it 50/50 ;) There's a good article on 24ways.org entitled Designing to a vertical rhythm. Looks slick - but not liking the star-field background :D
  • Deleted user 24 February 2010 16:54:54
    Either do I, but I'm converting a site that someone else did on tables.

    Which is here is you want to hurt your eyes

    Seriously split it 50/50?
  • Deleted user 1 March 2010 15:03:35
    Anyone know why this nasty flash animation isn't being displayed?
  • Deleted user 1 March 2010 15:08:27
    Strangely, if I move the flash code to header.php it works, no idea why though.
  • DaM 1 Mar 2010 15:37:10 17,374 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 18 years ago
    You are calling Scripts/swfobject_modified.js twice. Maybe remove the second one?
    Calling this twice too:

    swfobject.registerObject("FlashID");
    swfobject.registerObject("FlashID");
  • Deleted user 1 March 2010 15:42:05
    Hmm, got rid of that and still no joy.

    To be fair, I'm just dragging and dropping this in Dreamweaver, maybe that's fucking it up?
  • Deleted user 1 March 2010 15:47:11
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 10 March 2010 16:09:23
    Me again.

    Been coding this today and have been wondering how to make it that the footer is always at the bottom of the browser window, the site looks weird when the footer is in the middle of the window.

    Unless someone has another suggestion?

    http://realitydesign.co.uk/clients/jmac/
  • sport 10 Mar 2010 16:11:48 15,184 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Try this perhaps - http://ryanfait.com/resources/footer-stick-to-bottom-of-page/
  • Deleted user 10 March 2010 16:38:59
    Cheers, can't seem to get it to work. Would be quite happy to have the footer div extend all the way but I can't work out how to do that either :(
  • TheSaint 10 Mar 2010 16:43:43 18,761 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Post deleted
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.