NTL TV - It's gone pink !

  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 20:28:50 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    What have NTL done to my TV.

    It's on screen menu's have gone pink and the font is soooo big I could read it from the end of my road.

    When I use channel up/down buttons I now got told about all the channels I've got and yet can't watch so it takes an eternity to get from say channel 40 to 60.

    Wonder if the volume button works yet or if the teletext is still "coming soon". (Edit: Neither works)

    Anyone found any improvements yet ?

    Edited by ReGuRgIt8oR at 20:35:19 07-11-2002
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 20:35:46 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Hmm the wonders of digital TV! NTL analogue in my area is working fine. Have you reset your digibox? Maybe it's slightly crashed.
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 20:38:05 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    No, well yes.

    I have reset my box about 4 times only to find that it's an actual change by NTL.

    They claim to have improved the service ! And claim that interactive tv is now quicker.
  • ssuellid 7 Nov 2002 20:42:18 19,141 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    "Anyone found any improvements yet ?"

    Yes, I disconnected from NTL and switched to Sky and have had no problems since. Seriously I got so fed up with having no channels, a shite remote and the weekly crashes that NTL got ditched.

    Now that NTL do a broadband only option you can ditch the TV and phoneline. Hurrah.



    Edited by ssuellid at 20:44:24 07-11-2002
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 20:44:02 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Best thing you can do is pop over to [link=http://www.nthellworld.com">NTHellworld and post a message on the forum. It's an official NTL site these days and their techies do answer questions. Just had a quick peak and
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 20:48:13 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    One of my problems is that I loathe Sky.

    Even during the World Cup this summer we tried to get Sky in the office at work (reception thru aerial is poor) and as it was a business address they would only supply on a commercial contract basis of approx 140 p.m for the basic channels on a 12 month deal.

    Cheers for the link Whizzo.
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 20:51:50 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    No problem ReGuRgIt8oR, it's easily the best site you can visit if you're suffering NTL! :-)
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 20:52:34 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Gestalt 7 Nov 2002 20:54:49 98 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    I've not had the "no channels" problem, and the remote's not too bad, except that there's no last / favourite channel option for quickly flicking back and forth between two channels, and a few of the buttons don't seem to do anything yet. And of course there's no teletext. Oh, and you don't get BBC1 - C5 on separate channels like you did on the analogue service, so you'll need an aerial plugged in if you want to watch a terrestrial channel while you're recording something else.

    Another annoyance is that they have a fancy interactive channel guide, but it often takes forever to load each page and sometimes it just crashes completely and you can't see any of the listings until it sorts itself out. The big problem there is that they've removed the manual timer option that they used to have on the old analogue boxes, which means that if you can't load the TV guide you can't set your digibox to automatically switch channels for you while you're away / asleep.

    In fact, I'd probably have never upgraded to digital in the first place if it hadn't been for the fact that it was the only way I could get E4, and I had to have that for The West Wing. ;)
  • ssuellid 7 Nov 2002 20:56:48 19,141 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Im not a fan of Sky but the benefits compared to NTl are huge: -

    Customer support answer the phone in seconds.
    Customer support know how to handle your call.
    Loads more channels than NTL
    The remote control is good
    Text works
    On BBC you get some pretty good interactive stuff - with the world cup you could turn off the comentary or switch it to Radio 5s.
    The EPG is the dogs danglies.
    The engineers turn up when they say they will.
    Its crashed once in 9 Months - reseting it fixed the problem.
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 21:01:01 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Gestalt wrote:
    In fact, I'd probably have never upgraded to digital in the first place if it hadn't been for the fact that it was the only way I could get E4, and I had to have that for The West Wing. ;)
    The "feature" of needing to plug your aerial in to access terrestrial TV is one of the reasons I haven't upgraded, it just seems to be a bit silly really. The stupid thing is this wasn't necessary for the earlier digiboxes as one of my friends found out when his "old" one died and he was forced to take a newer one that required the aerial plugged in! So much for progress.

    E4 being on analogue is good though... ;-)
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 21:03:48 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    ssuellid wrote:
    Im not a fan of Sky but the benefits compared to NTl are huge
    Yep they crap on NTL and if I actually watched much TV these days I would certainly go that direction. However NTL have done Premiership Plus for everyone for a quid a month which isn't bad, even though the minimum contract length was a whole ten months for ten pounds Sterling...

    Edited by Whizzo at 21:04:03 07-11-2002
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 21:05:53 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Whizzo - I've never really had many problems with NTL, one set top box burnt out but it was quickly replaced and my broadband came on as promised, so I've always wondered what all the NTL fuss was about. What I was concerned about was their financial position but they seem to have sorted that out, for the short term at least.

    Ssuellid - NTL seems to be right for me. Only ever rang customer service on 2 or 3 occassions and I always ring v early or v late anyway. Too many channels for me now, on family base pack or something and I refuse to pay for Sky movies/sport even if it means missing my beloved football team. Remote's been broken by the kids anyway and I don't think I've ever used any sort of EPG anyway. I concede that it appears that more demanding (meant in a nice way) viewers would appreciate Sky.

    Aren't Sky the MS of the TV world anyway ? Next time football TV rights come up they are going to screw (and I mean screw) the clubs well hard.

    Edited by ReGuRgIt8oR at 21:08:52 07-11-2002
  • ssuellid 7 Nov 2002 21:10:58 19,141 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Well were on the "everything except porn, movies and sports" package as my woman said to the Sky sales woman.

    I still have my NTL digibox as NTL failed on three seperate occasions to pick it up. I've also got an analogue box of theirs. They also failed to turn up three times when installing the digibox.

    Next purchase is Sky + because as the moment I get to watch nothing - the woman is addicted to UK Style with its DIY programs.

    Edited by ssuellid at 21:11:40 07-11-2002
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 21:21:38 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    It seems bizzare in today's hi-tech business world that both NTL & Sky can treat people so differently.

    To both of them their subscribers should be so vital that they don't pi#s them off so much that the switch companies.

    Before I moved house 18 months ago I had BT phone and Tv thru an aerial, cost 15 per month. Now I've hooked into NTL I pay 85 - 100 per month for TV, 2 phone lines and broadband. That's a serious amount of money when NTL have no significant outlay when taking on an extra subscriber. (I do appreciate that they've got large infrastructure debts to pay.) Surely I am their "perfect" customer, so they should treat me well to keep me.
  • ssuellid 7 Nov 2002 21:28:12 19,141 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    NTL should be turning up on Wednesday to fit my Broadband connection. I ordered it on the NTL website that says a sales representative will call within either 24 or 48 hours - I forget which. Anyway two weeks later a sales person phones up. But 24.99 a month for 600k is pretty good.
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 21:31:38 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    ssuellid -

    Hope you enjoy it.

    I can honestly say that I've had it for about 16 months without problem. Now got it plugged into router and it runs 2 desktops, 1 laptop, 1 PS2 without a hiccup Soon to add 1 Xbox.

    Am considering whether their 1MB pack for 40 is worth it.
  • ssuellid 7 Nov 2002 21:35:23 19,141 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    There was someone doing a 2M for 40 a month - I think it might have been pipex.

    What kit do NTL supply then?
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 21:44:02 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    I believe the kit currently supplied is different to what I got back in July 01.

    However, I effectively got nothing as I already had a set top box, so I just got a password/pin number letter.

    Used standard Cat5 cable (v long mind - 30M) and plugged into PC. Reset set top box, switch on PC, open IE, enter password/pin and surf away. Same for other Pc's. PS2 & router just worked straight away using dhcp.

    I recall reading/hearing that you get an external usb cable modem now, although I may be wrong.

    Router & switch I bought are Linksys (will find model numbers if you wish) and bought 4 different coloured cat5 leads and plumbed it all in.

    Only snag, if you can call it that, is remembering to set PS2 in a DMZ on the router or nothing happens. Assume this will be same with Xbox.
  • ssuellid 7 Nov 2002 21:49:41 19,141 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Thanks

    As I don't have an installed STB then I guess that I'm just going to be getting some kind of external cable modem as you said. The sales bloke said that you can connect to it via USB or Ethernet. It better do as I know that USB murders the PC.
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 21:54:43 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Actually I've recalled one little problem.

    My STB's in downstairs living room whilst main PC is in upstairs office, almost as far away as possible. Hence 30m cable.

    It's this cable that's my problem as I have to run it under wooden flooring in living room, under carpet in hall, and then up and along each stair & riser up to my office. Problem is that bloody carpet grippers pierce cable and has had to be replaced once.

    Would try wireless network but have already bought all my wired kit and not convinced on security of wireless.
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 22:04:35 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    I've had a cablemodem from NTL for the last couple of years, it's a seperate Motorola Surfboard one (USB+UTP), which has been discontinued but the newer ones (which actually have NTL written on them) have a USB and UTP connector too. Obviously only the criminally insane or those who don't know much about networking would bother with the USB connection.

    My service is usually pretty good and it very, very rarely requires a call to their CM Helpdesk (perhaps two or three times in the last two years). They're currently offering the 1 meg service for 34.99 until the end of the year (it goes back to the rather pricey 49.99 after that) but I have a feeling that if take up has been pretty good they'll keep it at that price level as that's what Telewest charge and it sticks it to BT.
  • Gurgy 7 Nov 2002 22:06:27 2,922 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Do you use the 1 meg service ? If so is it worth it ?

    Does it improve the upload speed above the 128 level ?
  • Whizzo 7 Nov 2002 23:10:17 44,805 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    ReGuRgIt8oR wrote:
    Do you use the 1 meg service ? If so is it worth it ?

    Does it improve the upload speed above the 128 level ?
    I had the 1 meg service for a couple of months when it first launched (in fact they screwed it up and I had it at 2 meg for just over a week which was very nice), it is quick but at 50 quid I decided it wasn't worth it. Double the cost but not double the download speed, as my area was already capped at 600kb. The upload is doubled to 256 though so if you do a lot of file sharing, running a server it's a lot nicer.

    If the price stays at 34.99, I'll probably upgrade early next year when I'm actually working again!
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.