Droppy net connection

  • Deleted user 5 February 2012 15:50:55
    I've never been happy with my internet connection. Whenever I've tried to get into online gaming I find after a few minute the connection regularly becomes droppy. More recently when trying out Skype same thing happens, which almost makes it unusable.

    I haven't noticed when downloading anything, just for online gaming and now Skype.

    Any ideas of what to do?
  • monkehhh 5 Feb 2012 15:55:56 4,817 posts
    Seen 16 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Call your ISP?
  • Articulate-Troll 6 Feb 2012 10:17:19 3,098 posts
    Seen 5 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Maybe stating the obvious, but have you tried resetting your router?
  • Nasty 6 Feb 2012 10:22:51 4,799 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Replace all your DSL filters. Droppy connection usually = noisy line.
  • nickthegun 6 Feb 2012 10:23:26 73,319 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Your ISP will say:

    - check the cables
    - change the filter
    - change the modem
    - plug the modem into the master socket

    There, thats saved you a phonecall.
  • Fab4 6 Feb 2012 10:29:40 8,306 posts
    Seen 16 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    If you are on a wireless connection, make sure there isnt something else offering a stronger signal in the vicinity.
  • THFourteen 6 Feb 2012 10:31:46 47,928 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Also try plugging your PC/console in to your router with an ethernet cable and see if that fixes it
  • monkehhh 6 Feb 2012 10:33:10 4,817 posts
    Seen 16 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    If you're on cable internet a phone call can be useful as they can check stats and power levels and things, then they can send a bloke round who can do stuff and make it work again - very technical.
  • THFourteen 6 Feb 2012 10:34:40 47,928 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    nickthegun wrote:
    Your ISP will say:

    - check the cables
    - change the filter
    - change the modem
    - plug the modem into the master socket

    There, thats saved you a phonecall.
    this is why i love my ISP (Xilo)

    whenever i've had to contact them with an issue they've never ever assumed that i am incapable of doing the above myself before calling them.

    I send them the router stats, they tell me what the problem is.
  • Fab4 6 Feb 2012 10:59:34 8,306 posts
    Seen 16 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    monkehhh wrote:
    If you're on cable internet a phone call can be useful as they can check stats and power levels and things, then they can send a bloke round who can do stuff and make it work again - very technical.
    Some cable modems allow you yourself to check a status 'web' page (just like a router's set-up page). Just google the name/make of your modem along with 'status page'. I could do it with my old modem, but not this new one.
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.