Virgin Media Gaming Router

    First Previous
  • elaniel 10 Dec 2014 10:43:33 115 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Hi all,

    Not being entirely tech savvy, I am looking for a new router as I'm finding the Superhub 2 with my Virgin Media less than ideal. So will just use it in modem mode.

    Having problems with NAT on XBox ONE that no amount of port forwarding is fixing and PS4 problems too. Not to mention downloads that are quick, then drop to a crawl on consoles.

    I'm wondering if someone can recommend me a decent router. Been looking on Amazon and Argos and see a few, but no idea what's best. Daunting some are over £100, which I can't afford at the moment.

    I have the 152MB package. Will need it to be dual band too.
    Obviously be UPnP and have no problems with port forwarding as I want an open NAT. I use a PS3/PS4/ONE and a few devices will connect (including Apple TV's, iPad, Laptops). Also do some streaming from my WDCloud.

    Anyone have a good recommendation for me?
    Driving me nuts having problems with games recently.

    Edited by elaniel at 10:44:15 10-12-2014
  • THFourteen 10 Dec 2014 11:02:22 52,591 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    I recently purchased this for my Virgin Media 100mbps connection :

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/RT-AC66U-AC1750-Diamond-Dual-Band-Gigabit/dp/B008O56HXC

    Its ace, but i did install custom firmware on it which was a little fiddly to install and set up, so i can't comment on how good it is out of the box. unfortunately.

    get speeds of ~ 80mbps download on my galaxy s5 via 5ghz connection and ~ 40mbps via the 2.4ghz connection
  • elaniel 10 Dec 2014 11:11:59 115 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Issue for me is the price. I'd probably not be able to afford more than £100.

    Cheers for the recommendation though.
  • Whizzo 10 Dec 2014 11:52:55 44,793 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 18 years ago
    I've been using one of these TP Link routers with a Superhub in modem mode since January 2013.

    It's been fine for me with my 360, PS3, PS4, Sony TV, my phones, PS Vita and iPads/other tablets.

    Considering it's 40 quid the quite basic interface (which you don't really have to do anything with anyway) doesn't really matter.

    edit: actually had the cheaper model linked that I bought for work not the one I do use, the cheap one does work alright as well though.

    Edited by Whizzo at 12:51:04 10-12-2014
  • PearOfAnguish 10 Dec 2014 12:12:37 7,573 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Try the Asus RT-N66U. It's the older version of the AC model linked above. Asus routers are generally very good.
  • Fake_Blood 10 Dec 2014 12:20:19 9,584 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    PearOfAnguish wrote:
    Try the Asus RT-N66U. It's the older version of the AC model linked above. Asus routers are generally very good.
    Came here to say that. Got it 3 months ago and it's been rock solid. I just figured I have exactly zero AC devices so why pay more?
    And to be honest I get 450Mbps to my macbook, it's faster than my NAS or 100Mbps internet modem.
  • elaniel 10 Dec 2014 13:04:35 115 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Thanks everyone, N66U looks good. Anyone have experience of it in place of the Superhub 2?
  • Deleted user 10 December 2014 13:20:03
    You will still need the Virgin Box, but it will act as the modem not the router.

    Log in to the superhub as admin then find the bridge option, you can find a guide on the virgin support website.

    I am not at home at the moment so cannot tell you the exact way but i have a SuperHub connected to a Asus N66U and it works perfectly.
  • elaniel 10 Dec 2014 13:22:41 115 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I meant more, how much of an improvement do people find it over using the Superhub 2 as a router.
  • PearOfAnguish 10 Dec 2014 14:45:11 7,573 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Not the Superhub, but switching to that Asus from an ISP supplied router resulted in a noticeable increase in signal strength and significantly better performance. It used to drop out if one too many Wi-Fi devices were connected but the Asus is rock solid.
  • THFourteen 10 Dec 2014 15:04:49 52,591 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    elaniel wrote:
    I meant more, how much of an improvement do people find it over using the Superhub 2 as a router.
    Much better than my 13 month old superhub, both in terms of buffering (stuff like iplayer and youtube was unwatchable) and distance - it reaches all the way around the house.

    One interesting thing, 5ghz signal is signficantly worse range than 2.4ghz, just something to think about if you are reliant on 5ghz for some reason.
  • Deleted user 10 December 2014 15:33:32
    For me the  biggest difference is the stability of signal. I use most things that matter on ethernet so speed doesn't really matter to me.

    But the Asus router is the difference between using Netflix on my tablet in bed and wanting to throw the tablet out of the window.  I find the super hub is fine some days and falls over itself other days,  however with the Asus I can always watch Netflix in bed.  Doesn't matter night or day it always gets a rock solid signal.
  • THFourteen 10 Dec 2014 15:46:25 52,591 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Sharzam wrote:however with the Asus I can always watch youporn in bed.  Doesn't matter night or day it always gets a rock solid signal.
    fixed
  • Dirtbox 10 Dec 2014 17:51:56 91,178 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 17 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Fake_Blood 10 Dec 2014 18:21:52 9,584 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Dirtbox, the OP's first line says he's not tech savvy.
    Also, depending where you live flashing dd wrt/tomato voids your warranty.
  • Dirtbox 10 Dec 2014 18:55:06 91,178 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 17 years ago
    Post deleted
  • elaniel 12 Dec 2014 10:03:48 115 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Thanks for everyone's recommendations. I ended up getting the Asus with some AmEx points too. I shall be setting it up over the weekend and hopefully have some success!
  • Deleted user 12 December 2014 10:33:44
    Cool. The N66U gives me 20MB/s file transfers over my local network when using a TP-Link wireless card in my PC on the floor below the router (using the 5Ghz network which was given a different SSID)
    Should be pukka with your connection
  • greg_wha 27 Mar 2015 21:39:33 1,336 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @elaniel Did you get the RT-AC66U? Happy days?
  • THFourteen 28 Mar 2015 07:00:29 52,591 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    I'm running that router on my virgin media setup.

    Been going strong since November, restarted twice when I had to switch the power off for some workmen.

    Although in my experience these routers tend to deteriorate after a year or so
  • Dirtbox 28 Mar 2015 07:37:51 91,178 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 17 years ago
    Post deleted
  • THFourteen 28 Mar 2015 11:16:19 52,591 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    The last two I had, admittedly cheap models, got to a point where they required daily restarts for some reason.

    This one does seem rock solid so far.
  • Dirtbox 28 Mar 2015 11:56:56 91,178 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 17 years ago
    Post deleted
  • mal 28 Mar 2015 12:43:36 29,326 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 18 years ago
    To be fair, I used to have a Belkin that fritzed itself after about 18 months. The TP-link that I switched to has been rock solid for years now though.
  • THFourteen 28 Mar 2015 12:57:23 52,591 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    That's what the reset button is for.
    Its behind the tv cabinet on the bottom shelf, out of the way. Pain in the arse.

    Although with DDWRT on my tp link, I was able to get it to restart overnight every other day on its own
  • Dirtbox 28 Mar 2015 14:21:50 91,178 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 17 years ago
    Post deleted
  • THFourteen 28 Mar 2015 16:49:38 52,591 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Where on earth did I give any advice? I said I had the router and it was good since November.

    You are seeing things that aren't there.

    PS there is an ignore button.
  • Pierre2k 28 Mar 2015 19:00:37 1,130 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Am I missing something here? I joined Virgin media around 12months ago when I moved house. Got whatever version of the Superhub, TiVo box etc they had at that time.

    Never had any issues whatsoever with the Superhub (in contrast to my old "BeBox")? NAT open, everything connecting all over the house at full speed. Not noticed any online gaming lag?

    Only have their entry level 50mb service though this is much MUCH better than the 4mb service I could get, if I was lucky, at my old house.

    Is the Superhub really that bad? I've had absolutely no issues or complaints?
  • GoatApocalypse 28 Mar 2015 19:05:29 5,776 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I'm joining Virgin on Wednesday and wondering the same. I'm planning on running a cable from the PS4 to the router and PS3, 2x mobiles and 1x tablet will need the WiFi. I'm on the 50mb package; am I going to need to upgrade the router?
  • GoatApocalypse 28 Mar 2015 19:05:45 5,776 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Incidentally, how good is the 50mb service?
  • First Previous
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.