ASUS gaming laptop.

  • solidsneek 30 Aug 2018 23:47:50 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    So picked up a gaming laptop last week - runs rainbow six, HITMAN etc fine however struggles with ARMA and even crashes out on me with PUBG. Game runs fine but after a while it sticks and sometimes throws me out.

    CPU: 2.8GHz Intel Core i7-7700HQ (quad-core, 6MB cache, up to 3.8GHz)
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 (6GB GDDR5X VRAM); Intel HD Graphics 630
    RAM: 16GB DDR4
    Screen: 17.3-inch, Full HD (1,920x1,080) anti-glare, 120Hz refresh rate
    Storage: 256B M.2 PCIe SSD, 1TB SSHD
    Ports: 1 x USB Type-C, 4 x USB 3.0, 1 x HDMI 2.0, headset jack, LAN, 1 x mini Display Port, SD, MMC card reader
    Connectivity: 802.11ac Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
    Camera: HD webcam
    Weight: 6 pounds (2.7kg)
    Size: 16.5 x 11 x 0.9 inches (41.9 x 27.9 x 2.28cm; W x D x H)

    Iím pretty new to laptop gaming and completely understand this wonít have the same process as desktop but find it weird Iím lowering settings on arma
  • Spectral 30 Aug 2018 23:56:56 6,374 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 17 years ago
    Which Arma is it, there are 3. I've never played them but I remember some mention in the past of Arma being notoriously difficult to run.

    Another thing to check is that its actually using the 1060 and not the Intel HD graphics. I think it should be somewhere in the driver and/or game settings.

    If it's the first one, its old enough that it could just not work well on modern OS/hardware without some tweaking.

    Edited by Spectral at 00:01:24 31-08-2018
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 00:24:24 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Never thought of checking to make sure my graphics card is running 🙈
  • Spectral 31 Aug 2018 00:52:42 6,374 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 17 years ago
    I don't think its quite as simple as making sure the card is running. As I understand it, both are running and its supposed to pick the best one for the job. However sometimes it picks wrong and needs forcing. It does it to save power, no point using the more power hungry 1060 to browse the internet or watch netflix,etc.
  • THFourteen 31 Aug 2018 06:44:39 53,500 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Oddly sounds like a heat issue.

    Are you blocking the vents when you are playing?

    Whatís he FPS in pubg before it kicks you out
  • RaymondLuxuryYacht 31 Aug 2018 07:08:25 359 posts
    Seen 38 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Which model ASUS is it? Sounds like the one I have, and I understand the Intel HD graphics is factory disabled on mine - it only ever uses the 1060. If you've got the same one as me at least you can rule that out as an issue.

    Have you done the obvious stuff like Nvidia drivers? Agree with THFourteen that heat can cause crashing, this thing does get hot, but surprised it actually has trouble running anything - it's a fast machine.
  • BigOrkWaaagh 31 Aug 2018 08:21:27 9,315 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I've got the 15" i5 version of this and nothing I've tried has taxed it really, but I wouldn't be surprised if ARMA and PUBG melted it. There's no intel graphics in mine either, only the 1060, I'm not sure why they did that.
  • Dirtbox 31 Aug 2018 08:55:30 91,337 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 18 years ago
    Always set the default graphics to the nvidia in it's control panel, that said, cracking ARMA to the top strains everything, desktop and laptop alike. I had to find a nice balance with the settings for the 980m in my laptop to get on with it and it still doesn't keep a steady 60. A lot of trade off.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 08:56:08 31-08-2018
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 09:37:44 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    It does get very hot I updated my drivers last night and it ran a little better. Rainbow six and hitman run fine and so does the Witcher. The ARMA thing could of been the server or a number of things I was getting around 30FPS on the server I was on. Tbh I probably wonít play it again itís mental 😂
  • Dirtbox 31 Aug 2018 10:41:16 91,337 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 18 years ago
    Could have been.

    There is probably software to control the fan speed, mine isn't an asus, but I believe they have similar control software. Set the fan speed to gaming, or custom and to the top if possible.
  • THFourteen 31 Aug 2018 11:06:02 53,500 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    @solidsneek

    The reason I was asking about FPS was there is no way you would be getting 30fps on an intel igpu. So it must be using your 1060.

    The fact it runs for 30minutes before crapping out suggests itís overheating.

    Install some monitoring software and have a look at the temps, also make sure you arenít blocking the vents with your lap or whatever, use a flat surface.

    The other thing you could do would be to run some benchmarking software for 30mins and see if it similarly craps out.
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 11:11:25 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    @THFourteen So even on an Intel it would be higher than 30? Iíll try and Tweak some stuff this afternoon and see how it goes. Love the premise of ARMA but itís a vast open mindmelt 😂
  • Fake_Blood 31 Aug 2018 11:12:24 10,233 posts
    Seen 8 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Itís the ass temps, cranked too high.
  • THFourteen 31 Aug 2018 11:15:49 53,500 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    @solidsneek

    No, on an intel it would be way lower than 30 unless you particularly fiddled with the configs to get it to run on a low spec GPU.

    30 @ 1080p is probably abought right for a mobile 1060?
  • BigOrkWaaagh 31 Aug 2018 12:16:11 9,315 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    On my asus there is a dedicated ROG button on the keyboard that launches the Asus monitoring thing, which very clearly displays CPU and GPU temps.
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 13:14:16 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    @BigOrkWaaagh Yeah there is one Iíll the mess around with fans
  • KnuttinAtoll 31 Aug 2018 14:17:03 8,106 posts
    Seen 19 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    My Asus laptop has the older 960m (4GB of RAM) built in, with a i7 6700 processor. Not leading edge by any means but it runs even recent games surprisingly well, as long as you have reasonable expectations in terms of performance and graphical settings.

    All about compromise and unfortunately it really depends on the game.

    Am mostly aiming for 30fps/1080p except for games where 60fps is preferred (such as racing sims, for arcadey racers and stuff like GTA5 30fps is fine though).

    Occasionally I drop the resolution to 900p where I want to keep graphical detail and where res doesn't matter too much (console type action games for example).

    The 1060 is better but a friend has it and it won't do wonders either. His is built into an ultrabook and that gets scarily hot. My laptop is a thick built so plenty of ventilation. Still does get warm and the fans make noise during full load but nothing to worry about and certainly no crashes due to it.

    I remember trying ArmA 2 (had it still on DVD-ROM sorry I mean beer coaster) and the textures just wouldn't load. Some games are just horribly unoptimised - had to get a refund for No Man's Sky because it ran like arse despite other games looking decidedly better in comparison while performance was also better (but could be background calculations being more complex, apples vs oranges etc.).

    I have only certain settings changed in the Nvidia control panel, such as setting power management mode to 'prefer maximum performance' and maximum pre-rendered frames set to 1.

    I also highly recommend the use of RivaTuner - you run this in the background and can set FPS limits for individual games - this makes some games where you can't achieve a stable framerate a lot smoother i.e. you lock the framerate to 30, 40 or whatever for games that don't let you lock to a certain framerate. Makes for an overall more stable, smooth and consistent experience.
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 15:25:34 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    For some reason ARMA is a big fat nope on this by the looks of it. Probably wonít sink that much in to it anyway will try and optimise for SCUM and that going forward
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 16:03:18 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    So playing scum fans have reached 80degrees and now having slight lag issues
  • THFourteen 31 Aug 2018 16:05:17 53,500 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    fans have reached 80 degrees?

    Do you mean cpu temp or gpu temp or actual fans?

    80degrees isn't THAT high for a cpu temp i dont think.
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 16:22:14 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Oh looks like CPU temp actually
  • THFourteen 31 Aug 2018 16:27:33 53,500 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    There is a tool called XTU which if you can be bothered to install, would tell you if you happen to be thermal throttling or power limit throttling.

    Thing is at 80 degrees you shouldnt be thermal throttling, and if you were power limit throttling i would expect that to happen quicker than 30mins into the game.
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 16:39:02 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Ah ok man - Thanks for the info as I say the higher end games like the witcher etc seem to be running fine.
  • BigOrkWaaagh 31 Aug 2018 16:42:16 9,315 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I wonder if there's any tests we could do to see if your laptop is an anomaly. I don't think I've ever hit 80 degrees. You mentioned you had the Witcher. Do you fancy posting some stats from that, and I'll see how mine does with it. I don't know if it's the same chassis but I have an ASUS ROG with a 6GB 1060.
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 16:50:15 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    @BigOrkWaaagh Ok cool Iíll boot it up and take some readings from the rog gaming centre
  • BigOrkWaaagh 31 Aug 2018 17:11:04 9,315 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    @solidsneek Shows what I know, CPU was around 82 and GPU 70 C the whole time. Mine's an i5 though.
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 17:24:26 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    @BigOrkWaaagh Going to boot it shortly and will let you know
  • solidsneek 31 Aug 2018 17:33:17 763 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Both GPU AND CPU around 79-80 running Witcher no lag in game as of yet
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.