Lost functionality on both arms and looking for alternatives to mouse and keyboard to game a little

• staticbreed 16 Mar 2020 13:02:50 5 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 3 months ago
    You are probably wondering how am I writing this ( I use a 'voice typer' app) and how I lost almost complete use of my arms.

I used to be a body builder and a big gamer, until one afternoon in July 2017 I saw a fellow lifter in trouble benching. I was in the middle of a heavy set so I was already at almost complete exhaustion in my muscles, I saw this guy in the mirror who was benching 150 kg solo. I had a bad feeling and after 1 rep the entire weight banged down on his chest which we found out later broke a rib, I dropped my weights and ran over to him to lift it up.

I was already out of breathe and my muscles weakened, but it was only me and him in the small gym area and I knew that if I didn't make it happen he could maybe even die. I had my legs separated over him trying to lift 150 kg mid-air, I realized I wasn't managing it even though back then I could deadlift 180 kg, however this position was very unnatural to me and I could feel my back giving in. I kept screaming but was hopeless.

But as human beings, in moments of panic and fear we can surpass ourselves and pain no longer becomes part of the equation.. well that's exactly what happened, I calmed myself down and took a big breathe and slowly lifted the bar high enough for him to slide underneath, though he was screaming in agony doing so.

I lost consciousnesses for the first time in my life for a few seconds and hit the floor. He got sent to hospital, and I was simply checked over there and then and went home.

My arms were inflamed, but I didn't think anything of it.. until the next day. I could no longer feel parts of it, I could no longer hold or use anything without pain that drives me insane.