Crysis Page 41

  • Deleted user 1 June 2010 23:18:51
    Um, the both the 4870 and 4890 are still pretty decent. The 4850 isn't really the best bet for Crysis tbh but my old 5770 had no problems with very high settings at 720p. The 5850 is terrific at very high settings at 1600x900 but both cards completely froze on the last section of the game. You'd think ATi would have a fix by now.

    sigh
  • Deleted user 1 June 2010 23:19:08
    ecureuil wrote:
    I bought a cheaper card so I could upgrade it in the future, the PC costs were getting a bit out of hand.

    But regardless, it ran well for the first few hours of the game, so you'd expect it to be able to hold out for the rest.

    Don't be daft. The engine is awful. I'm running a x2 5850 crossfire config with a Q6600 @ 3.2ghz and Crysis still eats me for dinner.

    Shitty engine, and that is that.
  • Deleted user 1 June 2010 23:21:16
    ?

    Don't go expecting a solid 60fps but my single 5850 has absolutely no problem with Crysis. :/
  • Deleted user 1 June 2010 23:24:28
    N@ wrote:
    ?

    Don't go expecting a solid 60fps but my single 5850 has absolutely no problem with Crysis. :/

    Sure it does, as long as you don't mind an FPS averaging around 30.
  • Deleted user 1 June 2010 23:24:28
    ATi cards don't have a problem with Crysis apart from crashing on the last section. The (overclocked) 5770 I was using put out almost the same performance as my old GTX 275. Terrific little card imo.
  • MrE26 1 Jun 2010 23:25:26 2,039 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    I got several BSOD crashes on the last boss in DX10 mode with a HD4850, despite the rest of the game running perfectly fine. Dropped it to DX9 eventually & it was fine.

    Pretty much agree with your assessment of the game ecu. Warhead seems to be an improvement though.
  • Deleted user 1 June 2010 23:28:31
    Pinky_Floyd wrote:
    N@ wrote:
    ?

    Don't go expecting a solid 60fps but my single 5850 has absolutely no problem with Crysis. :/

    Sure it does, as long as you don't mind an FPS averaging around 30.

    More like 40, which is absolutely fine with Crysis because of its excellent use of motion blur. I get it; 60fps is (almost) the whole point of PC gaming and I usually demand 60fps but it's just not realistic with Crysis unless you shell out big monies.

    ed

    It's worth pointing out the a lot of PC gamers rather play with maximum AA at all times no matter what the frame rate cost. :/
  • roz123 2 Jun 2010 18:32:23 7,104 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    It runs fine on my 9800gt but obviously toned down. I played through it recently and got a fuck load of glitchy bugs on the last level.

    Ecureuil its worth having a go on the hardest difficulty setting if you want to get a bit more out of it. It turns off all the helpers like being able to shoot and drive and enemies showing up on the radar without being spotted also the Koreans speak Korean instead of English.
  • Deleted user 2 June 2010 18:44:14
    N@ wrote:
    It's worth pointing out the a lot of PC gamers rather play with maximum AA at all times no matter what the frame rate cost. :/

    This seems fairly mental to me. 60fps vsynced > AAAAAAAx1,000,000 surely?
  • Grump 2 Jun 2010 19:42:23 1,208 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    AA is always first to go whenever I experience performance problems.
  • Hunam 2 Jun 2010 19:46:03 20,673 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    I usually go 2x these days because it cleans the image up enough without taking too much away performance wise. 4x is what i'd rather have, any more than that can look a little cold tbh.
  • Deleted user 2 June 2010 20:00:25
    When it's all in motion its pretty difficult to tell the difference anyway.
  • caligari 7 Nov 2010 23:18:28 17,945 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    Erm - I'm hoping that someone on here can help me out.

    I've been enjoying this game, up until the 'Assault' mission where I'm asked to 'Sabotage the jammer on the North Korean cruiser'.

    Fine - that's not too difficult - but the only problem is that I've now sabotaged it about five different times - and nothing seems to happen. I've seen on Youtube vids that you're then immediately asked to 'air strike' the ship (if the game is working 'as it should' - but this doesn't happen with my version.

    I've heard that this game is a little buggy, but is there ANY way around this glitch?
  • roz123 8 Nov 2010 13:58:12 7,104 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I have never come across that before, a way around could be to manually load up the next level as you are very close to the end
  • caligari 8 Nov 2010 21:12:33 17,945 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 19 years ago
    roz123 wrote:
    I have never come across that before, a way around could be to manually load up the next level as you are very close to the end

    Ah, thanks. I didn't realise that was possible. I'll give it a go when I get home.
  • DasBooter 8 Nov 2010 22:17:40 488 posts
    Seen 31 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Don't you have to paint the ship as a target ie. by looking at it through your binoculars and maybe pushing a button?

    Not sure but yeah on the whole the game is buggy and often the objectives don't trigger/update.
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:47:24
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:47:24
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:47:24
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:47:24
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:48:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:48:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:48:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:48:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:48:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:48:57
    Post deleted
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.