Missing/skipping university lectures/seminars etc

First Previous
  • Syrette 16 Oct 2007 09:19:01 50,151 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Basically, I'm a 3rd year uni student, I'm 4 weeks in to this year, and for one of my units I've attended all the lectures for it but 2 of the 4 seminars (meant to be in one now). For some reason (because this isn't the first time) I'm feeling really guilty about this (coupled with the fact I'd be amazed if I attend the next one because theres a NUFC game the night before) so I'm going to email my tutor later on explaining my absences and asking what I can do to catch up.

Need I feel guilty?
  • Deleted user 16 October 2007 09:20:44
    Only if the tutor turned up. I think I worked out, in my 2nd year, a tutor turned up for a lecture only 70% of the time.
  • JYM60 16 Oct 2007 09:21:06 17,614 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    No.

I miss them all the time. :)
    (yr 2)
  • afray 16 Oct 2007 09:23:51 2,248 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    I skipped certain courses in uni that I thought I could get through from the notes alone. I regretted it massively. So go to all you can, unless of course it's early and you're tired or hung over or there's something good on telly or you're in the middle of a good game or you just don't feel like it.
  • AlcohollicA 16 Oct 2007 09:24:16 2,377 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    The last 2 years of uni I went in about 5% of the time. When I did go in it was to work on courseworks and stuff, not actually go to classes.

I graduated this summer with a 2.1 Honours degree in computing.

And the moral of the story is....
  • Syrette 16 Oct 2007 09:24:25 50,151 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Fruit_Salad wrote:
    heh, I missed loads.
    In your third year though?